We have nothing in common…

Q: Dear Damsel,
I’m just starting out at a new church, and I’m having trouble making friends. It’s not that I’m not very friendly…I just can’t seem to find anything in common with the kids in youth group. Got any tips?

A: I can’t say I’ve ever been able to understand it when people say things like, “I don’t have anything in common with so and so.” As a human being, you will inevitably have things in common with every other human being on the earth. Do you eat food? Do you listen to music? Are you in school? Do you play sports? Do you play an instrument? Do you watch movies? If you say no to all of these you’re obviously lying! And as a Christian relating to other Christians, you have…oh, I don’t know…Jesus in common?? In order to make friends you must first find a common ground. Once you’ve found it, you’ll find it’s not so hard to build a friendship!

•º•º• Rose •º•º•

Leave a Reply or Ask a Question!

